Boo!

I’ve only ever seen my ex once, briefly, as he tried (unsuccessfully) to hide from me.  It was about two years ago and I’ve never seen him since despite the fact that we still live in the same small town.  Truthfully, I am indifferent to him.  I don’t feel anything, neither hate nor love.

However I am in somewhat of a dilemma.  After a get together with a bunch of my rowdy cousins last week, we decided we would haul ourselves to some new activity centre nearby.  A friend of mine dramatically quietened over a coffee as I told her today.  “I hate bringing this up with you but HE works there now, my brother saw him when he went”.

What exactly am I supposed to do with that information?  The dilemma therefore stems from what I am expected to do versus what I really want to do.  I assume it looks rather dramatic to go now as though I am looking for a fight/trouble if I do.  On the other hand, why should I not go?  I didn’t do anything wrong and I  don’t see the point in spending my life hiding away from him.  I have no concerns about any residual emotions surfacing upon seeing him……….ok, maybe a slight niggle that I’ll be tempted to slap him but I think I can control it.  I do admit it gives me a great deal of satisfaction knowing where his life was to where it is now.

With that rowdy bunch behind me, I don’t think I will be the one wanting to hide anyway.

4 thoughts on “Boo!

  1. Salam, Enjoy yourself! Your right in saying you don’t have nothing to hide from. He was the one that did the wrong, hold your head up, plus it’s not like you have to talk to him, I’m sure there will be other employees that can give you service there. As a customer you can always ask to be serviced by someone else..

    Allahfaz

    Liked by 1 person

    • W’salaam Muslim latina, hope you’re well! I do think you’re right, there’s a sense of indignation on my part as to why I have to stop going somewhere just because he will be there. I can understand if people don’t want to be near their ex because of the emotions it stirs up but I do feel like I am at a different place now x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah you definitely should go! You’re going to have a fun time with your cousins and like you said, you’re indifferent to him now. He’s the one who would be getting a colleague to cover his role probably!

    Like

  3. Go where you want, do what you want. When we are truly detached from someone these things don’t matter – you just don’t seek him out nor do you go to special lengths to avoid him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

