Life in The Bates Motel

Image courtesy of static.tumblr.com. Vacancy exists now that I am out.

What still amazes me about the piece I wrote called Pakistani In-Laws or Just In-Laws is how many times it is read in one day.  What I find upsetting however is the search results which bring readers to it.  I can only assume when I see those searches that people are desperately resorting to google to help them deal with their in-law problems and my heart goes out to anybody who is in that situation.  Today’s search included “desi mother in-law beats me”.

My earlier piece was a fairly general introduction to my own in-laws and problems which I perceived others must go through too.  My in-laws never beat me like the reader above however I was married into quite an emotionally destructive family.

I didn’t gel with my mother in law even before marriage.  I knew deep down that she would be difficult and I blame young age for my naivety of thinking that she would grow to love me.  Her heart was intent on marrying all of her children in Pakistan however after one ran away, she backed down.    As a side note girls, never marry a man whose mother insisted on getting him married in Pakistan, you will feel the backlash, just trust me on that one.

I wanted to give an insight into what life was like for five years with my mother in-law.  The more sinister elements were the lies (sound familiar?).  My MIL would regularly call our home phone, a fairly normal thing to do you may think, but any time I answered would bizarrely hang up.  I counted 25 calls registered on our phone in one day.  I would leave the house at night and my MIL’s car would be parked a few hundred yards up the road, lights off, just watching.  I waved to acknowledge her but not wanting to be spotted, she quickly drove away.  When you’re already somewhat of a scaredy-cat in the dark, this is terrifying.

After a year of this behaviour and trying to change it by talking to her, I asked my dad to intervene.  My father phoned her and explained that she was more than welcome to come to the house but to come inside rather than lurk around outside.  She denied any instance of having done this.  Also denying that she ever phoned the house.  It was maddening.

I remember her last visit when she actually ventured inside.  My ex was asleep upstairs and after laying out snacks, offering the usual tea/coffee, I went to wake him.  I was stopped by MIL who told me she would do it.  I had a mild panic about what delicates of mine were on display and asked her not to go into the bedroom trying to use the “he won’t be dressed appropriately” card which was met with a “I’ve seen it all before” card.  Even now, that makes me feel a bit queasy.

My MIL was definitely the driving force behind what the family were or were not allowed to do.  I was more or less given the silent treatment from the whole family for five years because MIL ordered it.  I would sit at the dinner table with everybody chatting amongst themselves.  Trying to insert myself into a conversation, I was ignored or if somebody felt generous, given a one word answer.  Even in our own home when I gathered the family, I wasn’t spoken to.  My food was never delicious and my effort was never any good.

The silent treatments existed because I didn’t tow the line.  Coming from a family where you can engage and question things, this was seen as insolence in my ex’s home.  An example; I was given gifts by my ex’s cousins when I was newly married but told to return them by MIL.  I explained that I felt it was rude and fifteen minutes later after MIL stormed off, I found her standing in a clothes cupboard wailing until I promised to do what I was told.  That was week two of my marriage.

I recognise now that my ex has all the markings of a sociopath.  A sociopath is formed through an emotional screw-up somewhere along childhood so by the time adolescence hits, you have one slightly messed up individual.  I ended a blog recently with the following words:

“I’m half waiting for that knock on the door to come.  Journalists gathered on my front lawn.  The police will want to know if I ever saw signs that my ex was a highly disturbed individual.  I have an eerie vision ten years down the line of my ex being involved in some frenzied psychotic attack on his mother where she lies butchered on the dinner table.  Everything normally stems back to the mother, doesn’t it?  In the case of my ex, there’s no doubt that it does.  However that is a post for another day”.

Here’s that post.

6 thoughts on “Life in The Bates Motel

  1. I’m sorry but lurking around outside your home watching you????? There is something VERY sinistter about that!!!!!!!! I half wonder if she was planning something awful because why would you do that???

    LUCKY ESCAPE in a number of ways I think

    Like

    • I think she had way too much time on her hands that she could afford to spend it lurking outside the house for hours on end. It was quite frightening at times but I think she was trying to prove some nutty point that I never managed to understand!

      Like

  2. That’s because Pakistani MILS believe that they have rights of ownership over their sons. I do agree with the comment that theres something very sinister about watching you and I wonder whether there was more to it. The woman clearly has way too much time on her hands and probably should focus it on psychological help rather than stalking.

    Like

    • Your last comment is very true. There is no question that my mil does need some form of therapy however much like my ex, she is very much in denial that she has a problem but rather it is everyone else that is the problem x

      Like

  3. I too, had a monster-in-law. For some reason, there are certain individuals in the human race, crossing all geographical divisions who never allow themselves to let go of their adult children. They feel the need to control everything around them because they have no control in their own life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. She was truely a sociopath maybe even a psychopath to show her true colours one day . I would think she had some mental incest thing for her son and having insisted that he married a Pakistani that she thought would be obedient to her ,and be easy to sweep away, she was disappointed that you were not that kind of person . She then tried to mould you by punishing you. I don’t know if she had no control in her life when she was young but now she seems to have had far too much over other people’s lives. Obviously she was lucky to have a husband who granted her far too much freedom: to be stopped at night watching the house?! And no husband asking where she was? I said too much freedom because she used it for the wrong things…otherwise of course women should not depend on their husbands or anyone else for freedom! I am so glad you’ve escaped this family theyre not good enough for you and don’t deserve you! Thank God truely that you did not have any children to tie you to them or to inherit their ways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

